Cork Con FC J1 6 - 5 Galbally
Venue: Galbally
Competition: Munster Junior Cup
Match Report:

Cork Constitution overcame Galbally after a major struggle at the County Tipperary venue on Sunday.  It was a a very disjointed cup tie and Constitution will be relieved to progress to the next round.  On a fine afternoon, but on a treacherously soft pitch, Constitution hit the front with a penalty by Peter O’Sullivan after 10 minutes, despite missing one a few minutes earlier. Galbally’s kicker also missed a couple of shots at goal, but Constitution appeared to be getting to grips with the field conditions. 

However, all that changed in the 29th minute when Galbally second row Jack Hedigan got on the end of a maul from a line out, to score a try, and put the home team ahead. Kicker Guerin again missed the conversion kick. From then the play went dramatically downhill. First Con #8 Alan Ross was sin-binned for not releasing, and a minute later scrum half Alex Ryan was similarly dismissed for ‘careless use of h is arm’!!  Guerin again missed the resultant penalty. On the 40th minute a Galbally prop forward was sin-binned, but O’Sullivan missed the penalty to leave the half time score at 5-3 to the home side. 

The ground conditions obviously affected the place kicking as Peter O’Sullivan missed another penalty in the 43rd minute, after Galbally had #6 Jack Hogan sin-binned. Shortly afterwards Rogan Gee was red-carded for an alleged dangerous tackle, but the fourteen-man Constitution team then settled down and applied a strong period of pressure. They were rewarded with a penalty on 60 minutes that Peter O’Sullivan kicked for the lead.

There were no further incidents in the final quarter as Galbally kicked repeatedly to the left corner from where they attacked the line. However, Con’s defence stood firm and improved discipline saw them through to the next round in which they will ‘entertain’ Young Munster next Sunday at Temple Hill.



Con Players:

D.O’Shea; E.O’Donnell, C.Desmond, P.O’Sullivan Capt., M.Ross; S.Murphy, A.Ryan; G.Murray, K.Stokes, R.Hassan; Y.Browne, R.Gee; S.Desmond, A.White, A.Ross.

Con Scorers:

P.O’Sullivan 2P.

Cork Constitution FC