Cork Con FC 1st XV 43 - 6 Blackrock
Venue: Temple hill
Competition: Ulster Bank League Div.1A
Match Report:

A superb second half display gave Cork Constitution a comfortable win over Blackrock College at Temple Hill. Constitution missed a number of first half chances from good approach play and only led 7-6 at halftime, however, in the second period more passes went to hand and they ended with six tries. 

Darragh Fitzpatrick opened the scoring for Blackrock College with a first minute penalty after Constitution mis-fielded from the kick off. Sean Scanlon scored a fine 6th minute try to open Con’s account after Quinn, Dineen and Holland all handled. Gerry Hurley kicked the conversion. Fitzpatrick kept Blackrock in the game with a 16th minute penalty, and that was the score at the break. 

Constitution opened the second half with a superb try by Scott Deasy, who finished under the posts after fine handling in turn by McSwiney, Hayes, Fogarty and Dineen. Hurley added the points and kicked a penalty on 46 minutes for a 17-6 lead.  Two minutes later Rob Clune skipped down the left wing from another Joe McSwiney break that was carried on by Dineen and Scanlon. Hurley again added the points. 

In the 57th minute Con gained their bonus point when Ivan Dineen caught Johnny Holland’s cross kick. Scott Deasy ran in a solo effort from half way in the 75th minute. Hurley converted and Ivan Dineen closed out the scoring with the sixth try two minutes later.

Man of the Match: Philip Donnellan Cork Constitution


John Lacey, Munster

Con Players:

S.Scanlon; N.O’Drsicoll, I.Dineen, S.Deasy, C.Quinn; J.Holland, G.Hurley Capt.; B.Cagney, D.Fogarty, John Ryan; B.Hayes, P.Donnellan; J.McSwiney, B.O’Hara, James Ryan

Con Scorers:

I.Dineen 2T; S.Deasy 2T; S.Scanlon 1T; G.Hurley 1P5C

Blackrock Players:

.Symonds; D.Rowan, J.S.Byrne, M.Scott-Lennon, R.Keogh;  D.Fitzpatrick, M.Walsh; J.Barretto, A.Letham,, A.Lyons; D.Dillon, A.Dunlop; S.Byrne, P.McCague,M.Connelly

Blackrock Scorers:

A.Cudmore, G.Murray, B.Cuttriss, D.Lyons, R.Clune.

Cork Constitution FC