Cork Con FC 1st XV 16 - 23 Young Munster
Venue: Temple Hill
Competition: Ulster Bank League Div.1A
Match Report:

Before the biggest crowd of the season at Temple Hill, Young Munster confirmed their status at the top of the Ulster Bank League with a powerful display against Cork Constitution. Superior at set piece, and inventive in attack, they led from the first minute and were never in danger.

Willie Staunton kicked a first minute penalty for Young Munster after an obstruction offence at the kick off. Constitution lost Brendan Cuttriss to the sin bin and Staunton extended Young Munster’s lead with a second penalty in the 7th minute. Gerry Hurley kicked a penalty on 17 minutes to get Constitution on the board. Shane O’Neill scored a try from a strong drive by the Munster’s pack in the 33rd minute and Staunton added the conversion for a 13-3 lead. Just before the break, Johnny Holland dropped a goal for Constitution in the 38th minute, but Staunton added a penalty for Young Munster before half time to leave the score at 16-6 to the visitors.

Constitution were struggling to match Young Munster’s strong scrummaging and it came as no surprise when Referee George Clancy awarded a penalty try in the 56th minute from a repeated scrum collapse near the line. Staunton kicked the conversion for 23-6. Gerry Hurley kept Con‘s hopes alive with a penalty on the hour mark, but some good attacking play by Con went unrewarded when Robert Clune was called back for a forward pass. However, Con’s spirited rally was rewarded when Niall O’Driscoll cut through, after good work on the left wing by Cathal Quinn, to score at the posts in the 78th minute. Gerry Hurley drop kicked the conversion, but time ran out for Constitution as Young Munster took the points.

For Yung Munster, their half back pairing of Mike Prendergast and Willie Staunton never put a foot wrong and controlled the game superbly.

Man of the Match: Mike Prendergast



Con Players:

D.Lyons; R.Clune, N.O’Driscoll, S.Deasy, C.Quinn; J.Holland, G.Hurley; C.Corkery, A.Cudmore, M.Gateley; B.Hayes, C.O’Flaherty; B.Cuttriss, B.O’Hara, James Ryan.

Con Scorers:

N..O’Driscoll 1T; J.Holland 1DG; G.Hurley 2P1C.

Young Munster Players:

R.Maloney; A.Carroll, M.Costelloe, A.Burke, D.O’Neill; W.Staunton, M.Prendergast; G.Flaherty, G.Slattery, A.Cotter; D.Gallagher; S.O’Neill; L.Murphy, S.Hassett, N.Melbourn.

Young Munster Scorers:

S.O’Neill 1T; Pen try; W.Staunton 3P2C.

Cork Constitution FC