Cork Con FC 1st XV 9 - 13 Garryowen
Venue: Temple Hill
Competition: AIL
Match Report:

Garryowen gained a win over Cork Constitution in this Ulster Bank League encounter at Temple Hill on Saturday, but they can thank a moment of madness just before the half time for the decisive breakthrough.

Constitution, who had six changes from their previous game with Dolphin, were slow to get to grips with a bright Garryowen side, who came to Temple Hill with just one win from three. However, there were few scoring chances in the first 40 minutes, with the battle being played out in mid-field and both defences very much on top. A scoreless first half looked most likely.

It therefore came as a surprise, when in the 2nd minute of injury time, Constitution backs attempted to run a speculative Garryowen kick to the corner, rather than clear to touch and prepare for the second period.  However, with minimal pressure exerted by Garryowen on the kick, the Con backs contrived to fumble the ball and presented the easiest of try scoring chances to wing Alan Gaughan who had little trouble dotting down at the posts. Lawlor added the points and Constitution went to the half time huddle with a seven point headache.

Gerry Hurley kicked a penalty from 40 metres in the 50th minute to get Constitution back in the game. But just as quickly they conceded two penalties, to Fergal Lawlor and Alan Gaughan in the 52nd and 58th minutes, to give Garryowen a 13-3 advantage. Ronan O’Mahony was sin-binned in the 62nd minute giving Con a numerical advantage and Gerry Hurley kicked penalties in the 67th and 74th minute to set up a possible late charge by the home side. However, while Con’s scrummage was strong, their line out was inconsistent all through, and Garryowen were able to control the last minutes without difficulty.

 The Trevor Barry Memorial Cup was presented to the winning captain Conan Doyle. The losing bonus point leaves Constitution in fourth place on 10 points, where they are joined by Garryowen and St Mary’s College. Leaders Clontarf, unbeaten after four games, are next week’s visitors to Temple Hill.



Con Players:

R.Clune; S.Zebo, I.Dineen, T.Gleeson, N.O’Driscoll; J.Holland, G.Hurley, Capt.; John Ryan, A.Cudmore, S.Archer; B.Hayes, P.Donnellan; J.McSwiney, B.O’Hara, James Ryan

Con Scorers:

G.Hurley 3P

Garryowen Players:

L.Burke; A.Gaughan, C.Hircock, C.Doyle Capt., R.O’Mahony; D.Cusack, F.Lawlor; M.Kennedy, J.Rael, D.Lavery; F.McKenna, M.Melbourne; P.Neville, K.O’Gorman, L.Vaipulu

Garryowen Scorers:

A.Gaughan 1T1P; F.Lawlor 1P1C

Cork Constitution FC