Values returned
The AGM for the 125th season was held at the Clubhouse with Jerry Holland presiding.

In his Presidential address he complemented all sections of the club for contributing to an outstanding season that culminated with the double success of All-Ireland League and Cup.


The Centenary season was celebrated in style at events throughout the season, and the President thanked all who contributed to events both on and off the field. Edmund Van Esbeck duly updated the Club’s history with the 125 edition. And a black tie Celebration Victory Dinner event was held in May, which Lord Mayor Des Cahill attended.


The Senior squad, under the captaincy of Niall Kenneally, team manager Kenny Murphy, coaches Brian Hickey and Paul Barr, had an amazing season, winning all competitions entered.


The Club Tour to Canada in August set the scene, and the Cork Charity Cup was retained on their return in September. The Munster Senior Cup was won for a record fourth year in succession with a clear-cut 14-0 final victory over Young Munster at Irish Independent Park in February.  Then, semi-final victory over Buccaneers, set up a Bateman Cup Final in April. And the team duly delivered a record fourth Bateman Cup in succession, with a hard-earned 18-13 victory over Old Belvedere at Anglesea Road on 29th April.


On the previous weekend, the team had defeated Lansdowne at Lansdowne Road 19-17 in the AIL semi-final, and in the All Ireland League Final, defeated Clontarf 25-21 with another sterling team performance at the Aviva Stadium.


The Junior 1 XV lost their Munster Junior Cup quarter-final by a point to Clanwilliam in March; the Junior 2 XV won the Dennehy Cup in September with a 19-6 victory over Highfield, but were unfortunate to lose the Munster J2 League final by a point 21-22 to Garryowen  after extra-time in April.


The Under 20 XV lost the Donal Walsh trophy final to Garryowen in February, and also lost in the All Ireland McMullan Cup semi final to a strong UCD side in March.


And the club were awarded the Club of the Year by the Munster Branch, while Cork City Council honoured Ronan O’Gara with the Freedom of the City, in recognition of his career with Constitution, Munster, Ireland and the Lions.


Election of Officers 2017/18

President        Anthony O’Leary

Deputy President      John O’Mahony

Hon Secretary        Kevin Fielding

Hon Treasurer        Jim Murphy

Director of Rugby    Niall Murray

Chairman Management Michael Daly

Captain            to be nominated

Cork Constitution FC